Finding a greater purpose with exploration

Hi!

What is your purpose when out and exploring? Is it just to get your name on a star/planet or grind credits? Work on rank? Or do you have a greater purpose; mapping regions, finding relics etc. If so, how do you go about finding it and doing it?
I'm a long time player. I have been playing on-and-off since late 2014 and have gone on several exploration trips. First few trips was purely about credits. Then it became about getting my name on stuff. Then rank. I reached Elite a few years ago. The longest I've ventured out is 16k LY which I did when they introduced the FSS. Since that trip, I've stuggled to find purpose to my exploration trips. The last trip I did was when Odessy was released. I went out about 12k LY before I got bored and logged out. Did not return until last week.
When I logged in again last week, I hurried back to the bubble. Once there, I realized I wanted to head back out again, this time focusing a bit on exo-biology, which is new to me.
ANything else I should be looking for? I want to find interesting systems and planet, but I dont really know what to look for. I also get the feeling that a lot of the systems I find migh have something interesting in it (aside for ELW, star-type, biology etc), but I don't notice it (like shepard moons or really close binarys). How do you discover this stuff without going to every planet you discover? Are there specific things I should look for (green giants are obvious)? And there are so many galactic records, how do I keep track of them all? Do you cross check every system you discover with the galactic records?

Also, are there any ongoing projects that are going on at the moment that my trip could contribute to?