Game Discussions Bethesda Softworks Starfield Space RPG

Does anyone understand how mods work and are implemented (I need an explanation in "mods for dummies" terms- I'm no programmer!)

I want to be able to display all the system names in the map. There's a mod for that but it seems to be loaded by an app (fodmod?) & I'm averse to using extra apps. I'm already using SFSE, Plugins.txt to run LevelledVendorCredits & LowerRegistrationFee mods. I've also loaded in the SFSE Save Ships mod but not yet tried that in ship builder (spent the last week recovering PC after a catastrophic Windows error & had to reload Windows, then overload with the 22H version as my 1800 version wouldn't update).

I'd like to load the ShowStarNames mod by hand, that's what I've been doing so far...do I just put the downloaded files in the appropriate location for it to start working?

I looked at the ShowStarNames mod on Nexus, and it does give instructions for installing it by hand, on the main page. Looks like you just have to copy stuff into the right folders. Of course if you do it wrong, fixing it will also be manual. Also you'd have to uninstall it manually. But it appears that it can be done.

I've been using Vortex to install all my mods. It's been working quite well and makes installing stuff pretty easy. It doesn't have the most intuitive interface, but I'm used to it now and it's all good.

I like the idea of this mod so I installed it myself, using Vortex. Vortex did all the heavy lifting and let me choose from the various options (I guess these can be changed later by editing some .ini files, but I let Vortex do the work).

The mod is working fine after installing with Vortex (yay, I like it).

At the moment I consider Vortex to be the best way to install mods for Starfield. It seems to do all the right stuff. It even updates stuff like SFSE without me having to worry about it. Like I said, the UI isn't great, but functionally it works really well.

Good luck with it!