ED: Tips and tricks for new players

I'm new to this scene wondering if you guys had any advice I've been playing for about 2 days as of 10/9/17

There is lots of advice that could be given but I will leave you with the 6 second rule for now.
Whenever you are approaching something in space, as long as your timer remains 6 seconds or more you won't overshoot it.

The best tip I think I can give is, when interdicted, submit immediately by throttling down to zero and then, once you've submitted, all pips to engines and run away as fast as you can. Boost boost boost until your FSD is back online then jump back out of there.

This is assuming you're still in a small ship and unable to defend yourself.

If interdicted....submitting as described above dramatically reduces the 'Cool Down' timer on your FSD (Frame Shift Drive) which is the time taken before you can start the charging process to jump or enter Super Cruise again .

If doing the 'Brave Sir Robin' (Monty Python reference) i.e. leaving immediately .....

If you chargre your FSD to just re-enter supercruise in the same system or 'Low Wake' your FSD may be mass locked by the other ship which dramticaly increases the FSD charging time.

It is recommeded to select an alternate Star System to jump to. This is called a 'High Wake', and is NOT subject to your FSD being mass locked.

Be familiar with the 3 Modes of Play

Open - PvE (Player v's Environment) & PvP (Player v's Player) anything goes and you may find yourself sumarily destroyed by other player commanders in vastly more powerful ships than yours, particularly at high traffic areas such as Community Goals and Engineers Bases or other high profile areas, alien crash sites , mega ships etc.