Why anyone want to be a pirate in Elite universe?

One thing that has been bugging me since i started playing this game is how immersion breaking piracy is in this game. Why does anyone turn pirate (aside from us players that do it for fun)? Getting a bounty flag us for destruction, by anyone (we are lucky stations don't open fire on us). Stolen goods get us heavy fines if they are scanned in our holds, killing any profit. Pirating requires more powerful ship than the victims or else they may never give up their cargo, but that means a good pirate needs to have lots of credits to start pirating in the first place (kind of silly seeing pirates flying Anacondas and Type-10, whatever they steal never make up for the repair cost of their ships if they end up fighting).

So, lore wise, is there any reason people do piracy when there is no shortage of legit work to gain the same credits?

Piracy in Anarchy worlds pretty much solves the problems you describe, also only visiting high/med/low sec systems for piracy excursions, then returning to Anarchy to offload goods.

It is just a lifestyle choice, sure legal haulage and smuggling are amazing earners, personally I get a rush out of jumping into a Cobra MKIII or Krait and living like a criminal pirating diamonds and other stuff.

My only wish is that more commodities and scenarios existed for pirates. The megaship hacking didn't turn out so great IMO

PvP piracy was great when the game first launched, don't see it happening much now.

Me think piracy a very expensive hobby in Elite: Dangerous universe must be. For rich people maybe it is..

latest

It is a conundrum...

"Give me or I'll blow you up"
"Blow me up then"

*proceeds to get blown up because he has cargo racks while the other player is full defense modules.