ANNOUNCEMENT April Update - Coming 23 April 2019

No problem, you've only been here for a few months so nobody expects you to know that. :)

You joined in Novemeber last year.

I joined in 2015. I also have over 22k posts. Which means I've frankly read at least 100k posts here.

I think I'm just a wee-bit more qualified to speak here: Yes, people have been asking for it for years.

I think I've been for little over 2 years in here, automation requests aren't common and even then, there's always controversy surrounding it.

Jenner

I wish I was English like my hero Tj.
Early 2020: "New update, the ship now flies itself! All you need to do is mash one single button on your keyboard and everything will work out."

I started playing space games because they were hard and that was a good thing. Stop changing that.

No one is forcing you to change the way you play.

As much as I like the new exploration mechanics, I'll give those who don't like it this much: They're right when they complain that FD forced a change on them. (A necessary one imho, but a forced change nonetheless).

This, by contrast, is purely optional in every sense of the word.

Early 2020: "New update, the ship now flies itself! All you need to do is mash one single button on your keyboard and everything will work out."

Apart from the pirates, who will love you.

aka. it's true to say autocruise is a QoL - that not everyone will fit - not a win button. All for it myself.

Jenner

I wish I was English like my hero Tj.
No, but they're changing the way other people play. And that does concern me. This isn't a single-player game.

Is your concern botting? FD have responded to that concern already.
Otherwise why does it matter how other people play, or how much of a challenge (which is subjective) others must subject themselves to?

No one is forcing you to change the way you play.