Newcomer / Intro Noob questions, Player with Neutral Status?

Hi, please reply to few noob questions (sorry if it's too long) :)

1. As a newbie, I'm interested in flying with other people and see others in space, but this pvp harrasment is... well flying in a constant stress brings some fun but for longer it's exhausting.
The usual situation, I fly a hauler, no weapons, no cargo, harmless rank, courier missions between Dromi and some other, if I recall correctly it was Battuta station, and I'm interdicted by someone telling me to prepare myself. I'm not sure if it was a player or an NPC, because I had to keep an eye on that mini game. I did it and saw the blue bar filled in full so I guess I won...
But... I was flying to a target station, and around I noticed few individuals with Wanted status, so I didn't try my luck and jumped back to safe system. Thus I could not achieve the task and it's a bit annoying. Do I need to switch to Solo for a safe flying? Is it the only way? Maybe I can switch to neutral status in Open, that lets me be with players, who by default can not attack me?
Such untouchable status would be much more interesting I think, at least for the social humble traders / couriers like me :)...

2. I was put in such situation. I was trying to operate within starting systems only, and I didn't notice that by picking some courier job I jumped to a remote system out of the starting zones. My fault of course. I also remember I didn't pick that mission to get 100k cr. if I fly out of start system - I bet I lost this opportunity now...
Being there in that system's station, checking commodities I noticed a good bussiness opportunity to make with the Dromi system, from where I came here. 36k profit for a noob like me was a cool thing, so I grabbed the goods on haste and was trying to jump back to Dromi - but my permit was cancelled :eek:. Of course... I left the starting systems with appropriate rank so they are now closed for me...