ANNOUNCEMENT Elite Dangerous: Odyssey Announcement

Status
Thread Closed: Not open for further replies.
Basically all that Frontier said was "no VR at launch because it'd be crap."
We all have been here before, when such evasive corpo-language was used. I simply do not believe they will follow on that, especially given Braben's shift on stance on VR. That's why VR players are kicking up the stink, because when we tell you it's impossible to return to 2d after VR we're saying the truth. So pancake odyssey is a no-go for us. Plus, they said to the press (rtovr) that even the date is "unspecified" which in corpo terms means "we're NOT looking into it, and we're NOT planning it". You can add "right now", in vain hope.

Deleted member 110222

D
It's an outrage though, I have been playing all Half-Life titles FPS since HL1 in what, 1998? Where is the non VR HL Aylex version for me to play on my 144FPS 2k monitor? I'm so enraged i'm finished with Newell and Valve forever. I'm going to stamp my feet like an upset child until I get what I want.

Lol. See what is did there?
I actually did stamp my feet and act pathetically over HLA.

I've since been utterly humiliated over it. I'm a changed gamer over it and it was a big part of what made me take this new stance of "we get what we are given".

Give it a month. Most people complaining over the VR news here will also get over it. It's a shock to the system. We'll see the same outburst of emotion when ED server support is discontinued in the future. Hopefully there's quite some time before that but yeah.

Greetings Commanders,

Thank you for your overwhelmingly positive response to the announcement of Elite Dangerous: Odyssey. We’ve been really excited to share this and it’s amazing to see that you all feel the same way!

This is just the beginning and we will be sharing more details and information in the coming months that you can look forward to.