Am I the only person who is utterly unenthused right now about a generic FPS being shoehorned into my spaceship game?

Status
Thread Closed: Not open for further replies.
Do you fly with Flight Assist off? That's realistic.
It's really not. People think it is because they compare it to Ace Combat or Everspace, but you still have magic thrusters and inconsequential mass and inertia, unlike Space Engineers. And let's not even mention the silly boost implementation in ED.

Also, SE has highly customizable "FA-off", which is way more flexible that ED's version.

Disclaimer - I didn't start this debate! People turned on the bat duck signal, and I came as called :p

I'm very new to the game and got it for the flying, and I think the fps elements are part trying to expand their player base but that there's a lot they haven't showed that will be entertaining. I'm excited about the possibility of exploring ELWs, SRV or not. I think they aren't going to just add on an FPS mode, but expand the game into "space legs" across at the very least combat, trade, and exploration.

with rotational correction off, FA off is a requirement - otherwise good luck with hitting the sweet spot on a landing pad.

I find SE's flight mechanics superior to ED - much more realistic. ED feels like an arcade game in comparison. My biggest complaint with SE is the limited input customization - I would love to fly my SE ships with either my PS4 controller or my flight stick. This is where ED absolutely excels - it lets me customize my controllers and other inputs exactly how I like them, so while SE's flight model feels more realistic to me, the act of flying in ED feels more fluid and natural because K&M piloting just isn't my cup of tea (but I do it anyway).

If can't use my joysticks, throttle or pedals on top of no head tracking or VR, I wouldn't even consider it. That's as much a flight game as GTA is a driving game.