Hi Commanders,

I am thinking of switching from the Annie to a Krait Phantom for exploring.

It should hit more than 70ly. Not because I am in a rush in exploring, but because it is helpful to reach remote systems. And because it helps if you wanna get home quickly.

I will optimise life support eventually in Colonia.

I am happy for any post which helps getting a phantom above 70ly.

Is a downgrade in thrusters possible etc.?like with the jumpaconda...?

Thx 4 your help and have a fun time out there!

o7

Edit: found this so far...

Last edited:
Not an expert myself, but from what Coriolis says it seems you could shave off a few tons with a Guardian PP and thus gain 3/4 ly max jump range:

I'm not an expert either, but that seems like a very fine build. I've only done one long trip, which was Sag A* in a Mamba (long trip). I arrived with no scratches in the hull and intact modules, so my conclusion was that AFMU's were somewhat unnecessary, but they have zero mass so if you have the slots bring them.

Safe Travels! :)

What about a 3A PP? It's not got the very "low" efficiency of an engineered 4A, but it's only 2.5 T giving extra jump range, and 0.4 is pretty low, and should stay cool even when scooping.

amfu's are useful if you accidently flew too close to a star while watching netflix or need to use a lot of neutron star boosting. if you're paying attention and not in a hurry you can leave the amfu behind. my exploration conda has 2 because i am paranoid and i have literally never had to use them for any other reason then jet cone boosting and stupidity. XD

70ly was the goal for mine as well :)
16t fuel is imo enough for a 5a fsd, and
you still can boost with the 1d pd, although just once in a while ;)
I have 3A Guardian PP and 3D PD in mine. I just don't like switching off modules. 4C fuel tank, 2G SRV hangar, AFMU because of the Neutron jumps. It can boost if need. It successfully finished Beagle Point trip. Best ship EVER! 🙂

Throwing my 2 cents in: