Thoughts on Odyssey 'New Player Experience' [Gameplay Feedback]

Deleted member 275835

D
I'm relatively new to ED (been at it since April), and decided on Odyssey's release - partly due to the unearned engineer invite bug, partly due to breaking my own sense of progression by doing a website driven road to riches in a Hauler to get an AspX (never found the meta game appealing) - to wipe my CMDR and start fresh.

So, sidestepping the obvious commentary on bugs/performance (of which there are billions of other threads), I thought I'd share my hopefully constructive thoughts/feedback on the new player experience:

The opening on-foot mission was fabulous. In my headcanon at least, the whole merc/soldier on "one last mission from my mysterious new benefactors in the Pilots' Fed" angle worked for me (and I was glad nobody stopped to assure me they weren't an Imperial - because I really wasn't wondering, anyway). It may not work for everyone however, and I felt it was somewhat at odds with the relative anonymity of the Horizons 'choose your own adventure' start. It'd perhaps be nice in future to see the option of choosing some shallow profession-based 'Morrowind Seyda Neen census office' style options (i.e. are you a… scientist, scavenger, merc, explorer?) which subtly alters the story of that mission - or even alters your starting location/mission a la SWTOR. Having to maverick-suit your way through a busted post Thargoid attack space station to reach an escape shuttle, for example - that would be fun. I get from a developer point of view that this could massively complicate what is essentially a tutorial/showcase for a bunch of new game features, but it's the little touches that make a difference to overall experience in my opinion, so worth mentioning for the 'nice to have' category later down the line.