Elite: Dangerous is seriously underrated

ED has one of the most likeable gaming communities I ever witnessed.

The game is ok too. - guess this needs an emoji: (y)

Could be. I think the thing I appreciate most about ED is the dev continues working on it years after release, in a time when studios are stumbling all over each other to drop everything and release the next big battle royale. I also appreciate how difficult it is to populate and design around something as sprawling and (almost) infinite as space. The other infamous space game hasn't made it outside of its first system yet, last I'd heard.

In my opinion it is neither. Allow me to elaborate:

Let me start with this: I'm still pretty new at Elite, A bit under 72 hours total but it'll climb bit by bit every day (or at least for now)
Now on to my explanation.

Elite Dangerous has the reputation it deserves right now. The game while feeling great isn't that deep but let's start with the good parts.
Starting with the flying:
While i have played games like Elite namely Freelancer (that game is an old masterpiece seriously, if you haven't played it yet you should), Strike suit zero, X rebirth (i played it because i couldn't get Elite Dangerous at the time) and out of these games Elite feels the most free and engaging to use. I changed the pitch and roll control immediately because it felt seriously clunky to me but past that it's great how you can control nearly everything your ship does. Flight assist is great as well for flying with a feeling that you are actually flying in space.
Combat: