Open - NoN PvP option

I love this game, but I don't play it for the PvP, personal I'm not good at it and mostly I don't enjoy PvP games, its just not in my enjoyment of a game. But what I do enjoy is cooperation and playerbases, honestly some of the best times I've had on ED is interacting with people.

For me the CCC (Christmas Carrier Convoy) was the pinnacle of this, loads of people trying something together, with some vague idea of what. This started in open but quickly moved to a large private group because honestly the PvP wasn't part of what people got into the "mission" for. But it wasn't just loads of cargo ships, no we had a mix, explorers, fuel rats, security detail for NPC's and the like. People grouped up and worked together in an enjoyable way.

These days I mainly play in solo or small private groups, but honestly space is big enough already and playing solo can make it feel even more empty. However the risk of open play makes me avoid it totally. I don't want to go hundreds of light years to do a CG or an unusual event to be wordlessly killed, sure its "emergant gameplay" or "teaching lesson about sheilds" or "high wake escape" or whatever, but these aren't my enjoyment of the game. Having someone tell me about not min-maxing whilst having maxed their warship for killing quickly seems like a pretty weird way to "teach".

So here's my suggestion, a Non-PvP open. Keep the regular open allow that to affect the BGS only to make it a risk reward thing, but have a separate non-pvp section. Other MMO's have been doing this for years with the likes of Non-PvP servers on warcraft or both parties having to toggle on PvP in Diablo etc.

I want to be able to play this game with others, I don't want to deal with PvP engineered wordless one hit wonders. Its simply not enjoyable with basically minimal reward for the risk.

Thoughts, comments and amendments welcome!

I will agree with this sentiment.